Love the Brotherhood, Serve Others, Praise the King

Mu Chapter History

Executive Board

     Lambda Sigma Phi's first Chapter was chartered at the University of Alabama (UA) in Tuscaloosa, Alabama on August 9th, 2000.  The Mu Chapter, designated so because it is the mother Chapter for Lambda Sigma Phi, came into being through the work of several Christian brothers desiring to create a "city on a hill" (Matthew 5:14) within the Greek life community.  Discussions originally began in the summer of 1999 on a summer beach trip when Morgan Plott, Jonathan Whitehurst, Will Wiggins, Blake Johnson, and Mrs. Plott (Morgan's mother) all began to talk about what opportunities there were on campus at UA for Christian men.  In the fall of that year, this same group reached out to UA on securing an on-campus fraternity house on New Fraternity Row which had just become available.  They continued working with campus administration throughout the 1999-2000 school year, and by August of 2000 they had secured the house on campus and chartered the Mu Chapter with the following founding members: Anthony Fontaine, Gabe Giardina, Phillip Lee, Buddy Overstreet, Morgan Plott, John Stuart Rabon, Chip Riley, Jonathan Whitehurst, and Nathan Vaughn.  Lambda Sigma Phi's Mu Chapter was the first new fraternity on UA's campus in 100 years, it was the first and only Christian fraternity on UA's campus, and it was the first traditionally white fraternity to actively recruit and initiate a minority brother.  Since 2000, the Mu Chapter has continued it's focus to make disciples of Christ through intentional discipleship, active engagement within UA's Greek life, and community involvement.

Tyler Martin


Cole Coons

Vice President 

of Internal

Hunter Wright

Vice President

of External

Tyler Sorensen

Vice President

of Judicial

Kyle Davis


Greg Keeton



Nick Bagwell